Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |


Nirmali Fenn

Nirmali Fenn
Photo: Artur Tixiliski

Winged Links (string quartet)
Through a glass darkly (clarinet, trumpet, accordion)
The 5 Steps (flute, alto saxophone, violin and 5 dancers)
Unifying divisions (seventeen saxophones)
Some words (Soprano, flute, oboe, bassoon, violin, violoncello, percussion)
The Clash of Icicles against the Stars (Flute, accordion, sheng)
An Interior Monologue (Viola solo)
The Edge of Self (Accordion solo)
A Highwire Act (Violin, violoncello, piano)

Beginning her life in an orphanage in Sri Lanka's capital Colombo, Nirmali Fenn was raised and educated in Australia, gaining highest honours in musical composition from the Universities of New South Wales and Melbourne. A Clarendon Scholarship and an Overseas Research Students Award enabled her to complete a doctorate at Oxford University. After receiving Second Prize at the 26º Concorso Internazionale di Composizione in Turin in 2008, she is becoming increasingly known on the international stage, and has taken up appointments as Composer in Residence for the Saxophone Habanera Festival in Poitiers, France, and the Lake District Summer Music Festival, UK.

Her compositions have impressed many of the world's leading ensembles specializing in contemporary music, including the Arditti Quartet, Ensemble Cairn, Ensemble Linea, Kuss Quartet, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Tin Alley String Quartet, Sounds Underground and Endymion Ensemble. She has held positions as a Music Scholar and Visiting Assistant Professor at the University of Hong Kong, Visiting Scholar at New York University and she is currently Lecturer at Yale-NUS College Singapore.

Leaflet Nirmali Fenn

Return to home page