Home page
Composer†| Editor†| Group†| Instrumentation†| Series |

Simon Balicourt

Set 1: Sonata nos. 1 in D major and 2 in G major

Flute and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot

Sonata 1 in D major, opens with a Larghetto full of the rhetorical kind of expression one associates with Handel. It is followed by a busy Allegro and a concise Tempo di Minuetto movement that celebrates the extreme popularity of this dance, which, in contrast to its role in the Classical symphony, most often serves as a finale in works written around the middle of the century.

Sonata 2 in G major, a traditional pastoral key. This association is confirmed immediately in a charming siciliana marked Andante. The Allegro assai that follows is dominated by its three-hammer-blow opening motive, which Balicourt treats with great insistence and some ingenuity. The concluding pair of movements illustrates Balicourtís Janus-like cultivation of both galant and baroque musical languages. The Andante in E minor takes us into the world of a slow movement in a mid-eighteenth-century operatic sinfonia, while the Allegro has all the characteristics of a Corellian giga written fifty years earlier.

Look inside

Set 1: Sonata nos. 1 in D major and 2 in G major
hh445.fsp ∑ ISMN 979 0 708146 52 0 ∑ ISBN 978-1-910359-57-0
How to order
Return to home page