Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Ming Wang

Ming Wang portrait

Vier Jahresmodi (19 strings)
Variationen (string quartet)
Klagegesang (quintet)
Schwebende Fragmente (trio)
Die verwandelten Modi (alto flute)
Traumfänger (piano trio)
Stiller Donner (piano solo)
Kinderuniversum (12 Stücke für Kinder)
A Child’s Universe (12 ensemble pieces for children)
Im Moment der Verklärung (piano quintet)
Entfaltung (septet)
Hoamat (speaker, soloists, ensembles, orchestra, choir)
Verwandlung (two bass clarinets and one clarinet in B flat (two players))
Schwebende Fragmente II (flute/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, horn, percussion, violin, viola, violoncello, double bass)
Fables from the Alps [Alpenlegenden] (piano solo)
Drei Fantasiebilder Südafrika (octet)
Vision (Flute/alto flute · oboe/cor anglais · bass clarinet · violin · viola · violoncello)
Gesang eines Zugvogels (Ensemble)
Retrospektive (String quartet)
Sui-Gong (Flute (picollo, alto) & medieval flute)
Arche (Clarinet, trombone, piano, accordion, viola, violoncello)
Aus der Dunkelheit (Two (Bass) clarinets and piano for four hands)

Ming Wang was born in Taipei, where she studied Chinese music at the Chinese Culture University. From 1986 she studied composition with Nan-Chang Chien in Taipei, and from 1989 electronic composition with Dieter Kaufmann at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, graduating with distinction in both disciplines in 1997 and 2003 and gaining her master’s degree.

Since 1989 she has lectured in musicology, and has taught traditional Chinese music at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich and at the University of Vienna. She has also performed in several countries on the guzheng and pipa (Chinese zither and lute).

Ming Wang has worked with many renowned conductors, soloists and ensembles, and her instrumental and electronic compositions have been performed at various festivals, including the Keelung Modern International Music Festival in Taiwan, and the Vienna Modern, the Carinthian Summer, and the Styrian Autumn festivals in Austria. Among the numerous prizes she has received are the Austrian Federal Chancellery’s state scholarship for composers, the city of Vienna’s promotion prize, an honour award from the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture and a publicity award from the Austro Mecana.

Leaflet Ming Wang

Visit Ming’s website

Return to home page