Home page
Composer†| Editor†| Group†| Instrumentation†| Series |

Benjamin Skinner

Six sonatas, volume 2

Flute or violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot
Leaflet Music example: Sonata 4 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example: Sonata 5 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example: Sonata 6 (pdf)

Skinnerís main publication was a set of six sonatas for flute, violin or solo harpsichord, which came out in 1752. These unpretentious pieces, then as now well suited to performance by amateurs or by musicians in training, are full of delights, mixing stylistic features inspired by Purcell or Handel with evocations of English popular vocal music and also the newer galant style introduced from Italy. They perhaps work best with flute and basso continuo, but the other two performance options are good alternatives.

Look inside

Six sonatas, volume 2
hh599.fsp ∑ ISMN 979-0-708213-14-7 ∑ ISBN 978-1-914137-62-4
How to order
Return to home page