Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henri-Joseph Rigel

Six Sonatas, Op. 1
Volume 2: Sonatas 4-6

Harpsichord or Piano

edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketPlaying score

Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 4 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 5 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 6 (pdf)

Rigel’s keyboard music is a relatively neglected area within his oeuvre and deserves to be much better known, by players and listeners alike. The appearance of this new two-volume edition of his first published collection – a set of six sonatas for solo harpsichord or piano issued in 1767 – should help to remedy the lack of familiarity with this appealing repertoire. For these are highly idiomatic works, displaying the richness and pan-European character of the composer’s musical inheritance. In them we hear a blend of influences drawn from the Italian tradition of galant keyboard music, the drama-filled world of the German symphony and the intimate milieu of French pièces de clavecin.

Look inside

Six Sonatas, Op. 1, Volume 2: (nos. 4-6)
hh570.sol · ISMN 979-0-708185-85-7 · ISBN 978-1-914137-39-6
How to order
Return to home page