Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henri-Joseph Rigel

Six Sonatas, Op. 1
Volume 1: Sonatas 1-3

Harpsichord or Piano

edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketPlaying score

Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 1 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 2 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 3 (pdf)

Rigel’s keyboard music is a relatively neglected area within his oeuvre and deserves to be much better known, by players and listeners alike. The appearance of this new two-volume edition of his first published collection – a set of six sonatas for solo harpsichord or piano issued in 1767 – should help to remedy the lack of familiarity with this appealing repertoire. For these are highly idiomatic works, displaying the richness and pan-European character of the composer’s musical inheritance. In them we hear a blend of influences drawn from the Italian tradition of galant keyboard music, the drama-filled world of the German symphony and the intimate milieu of French pièces de clavecin.

Look inside

Six Sonatas, Op. 1, Volume 1: (nos. 1-3)
hh569.sol · ISMN 979-0-708185-84-0 · ISBN 978-1-914137-38-9
How to order
Return to home page