Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Jean Xavier Lefèvre

Méthode de clarinette, volume 4

Clarinet and piano

edited by Nicholas Cox
Add to shopping basketFull score and parts

Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 11 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata No. 12 (pdf)

These Sonatas were written as part of Jean-Xavier Lefèvre’s Méthode for the Clarinet.
They are great stepping stones to the more difficult clarinet master works by Mozart and Weber and are also invaluable first pieces for those studying period performance on the classical clarinet. They retain Lefèvre’s original notation for clarinet and the bass lines are transposed down a tone so the Sonatas are playable on the B flat clarinet. The right hand of the piano parts have been realised from a single unfigured bass line probably intended for the cello. The piano parts are designed to be stylistic, complementary to the clarinet line, satisfying to play and occasionally challenging.

This edition includes an Introduction in English and German as well as Notes on Editorial Method and Performance Notes for each Sonata at the back of the piano score.

Look inside

Méthode de clarinette, volume 4
hh562.fsp  · ISMN 979 0 708185 77 2 · ISBN 978 1 914137 30 3
How to order
Return to home page