Home page
Composer†| Editor†| Group†| Instrumentation†| Series |

Anton Stadler



edited by Martin Harlow
Add to shopping basketPlaying score

LeafletMusic example (pdf)

Anton Stadlerís works for solo clarinet are collected into a single volume for the first time, and include hitherto unpublished music. Three Caprices and three Fantaisies are selections of popular contemporary tunes, laced together with virtuosic clarinet writing. Sets of variations, also based on popular themes, display a compendium of classical clarinet technique. The solos offer the modern player a challenging workout in the instrumental idioms of Mozartís friend and clarinettist.

Anton Stadlerís Solos for Clarinet and and Duos for Clarinet, edited by Martin Harlow, are excellent contributions to the clarinetís repertoire. They include four impressive and technically challenging solos and two musically attractive sets of duos, by the most outstanding clarinettist of the late eighteenth century. The introduction, editing, and textual notes are accurate and scholarlyóboth editions are highly recommended to all clarinetists.

Albert R. Rice, clarinettist and author.

Martin Harlow offers some important new insights into the vicissitudes of freelance performers during Mozartís lifetime. The cultural milieu of Anton Stadlerís small-scale compositions is particularly well caught, offering an inspirational context for todayís performers of these editions.

Colin Lawson, clarinettist, author and educator
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Solos for clarinet
hh550.sol ∑ ISMN 979 0 708185 65 9 ∑ ISBN 978-1-914137-20-4
How to order
Return to home page