Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Ignaz Pleyel

Three quintets

Op. 18

Flute · oboe · violin · viola · violoncello/bass

edited by Michael Elphinstone

Leaflet Music example Quintet 1 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Quintet 2 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Quintet 3 (pdf)

Add to shopping basketFull score and parts

Ignaz Pleyel’s numerous chamber compositions include a set of three quintets for the infrequently encountered ensemble of flute, oboe, violin, viola and cello/bass. First published in 1788 as the composer’s Op. 18, the quintets were quickly taken up by various publishers throughout Europe. Today they are all but forgotten.
As one might expect of music by Pleyel, the Op. 18 quintets are imbued with appealing melodies and pleasing harmonies. They are also surprisingly inventive in terms of their combination of instrumental timbres, despite the limits imposed by the reduced scoring. Technically, they are not especially difficult, although a number of solo episodes for the flute, oboe, violin and viola are not without challenge.
These works are highly suitable for programmes featuring mixed wind and string chamber music, and would make perfect companion pieces to Classical quartets or quintets by, for example, Mozart, Haydn, Boccherini or Cambini.

“The edition is a most handsome one, with durable covers, large print, beautiful art-work and a most informative introduction both in English and German by the editor. Page turns on the whole have been well thought out with just the odd one needing a bit of sorting out.
All in all, a most valuable addition to late-C18 chamber music repertoire: highly recommended.”

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Three quintets, Op. 18
hh518.fsp  · ISMN 979 0 708185 28 4 · ISBN 978 1 910359 99 0
How to order
Return to home page