Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Diogenio Bigaglia

Three Trio Sonatas

Two flutes and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketFull score and parts

Leaflet Music example Sonata 1 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata 2 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Sonata 3 (pdf)

Trio sonatas specifying flutes for both upper parts are rare among the works of Italian composers active around 1730. These three concise four-movement sonatas by the Venetian monk and proficient amateur composer Diogenio Bigaglia (c.1676c.1745), probably written to order for a German visitor to his city, are some of the earliest known examples. Of moderate technical difficulty, they are delightful compositions, full of grace, euphony, wit and contrapuntal dexterity, and they also show great sensitivity towards the delicate sound of the baroque transverse flute (traverso). Interestingly, the particular instrument for which they were written was a short-lived version of the traverso, whose compass extended down to Middle C rather than the usual D. On a modern concert flute, which has the same lowest note, the parts present no problem; for ease of execution on an ordinary traverso, the editor has indicated a number of optional octave transpositions.

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Three Trio Sonatas
hh511.fsp  ISMN 979-0-708185-21-5  ISBN 978-1-910359-98-3
How to order
Return to home page