Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Simon Balicourt

Set 2: Sonata nos. 7 in D major and 8 in D major

Flute and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketFull score and parts
Leaflet Music example, No. 7 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example, No. 8 (pdf)

Sonata 7 in D major opens with a sunny Andante that nevertheless includes a poignant moment near the end. The subsequent, technically challenging, Allegro moderato bounces along airily, throwing out scales, arpeggios and wide leaps with equal abandon. The concluding Allegro – a feast of syncopation – is an object lesson in how to compose a coherent movement based on a single idea without the result sounding remotely monotonous.

Sonata 8, also in D major, is the only three-movement work in the set with a Fast–Slow–Fast arrangement. Its opening Allegro is especially well developed formally, coming close to mature Classical sonata style. For the Adagio in B minor, Balicourt takes a chromatic idea heard earlier in the first movement and works it intensively and poignantly: this truly is the ‘jewel’ of the set’s slow movements. The Moderato finale is enlivened by a number of interesting modulations and harmonic twists as well as some attractive moments of animation in the bass.

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Set 2: Sonata nos. 7 in D major and 7 in D major
hh444.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 51 3 · ISBN 978-1-910359-56-3
How to order
Return to home page