Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Simon Balicourt

Set 2: Sonata nos. 5 in D major and 6 in E major

Flute and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketFull score and parts
Leaflet Music example, No. 5 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example, No. 6 (pdf)

The Andante opening Sonata No. 5 in D major, with its delicately chiselled, ever-changing rhythms in the flute line, exemplifies to perfection the galant style. The subsequent light-footed Allegro assai looks back to Quantz and even to Vivaldi. The piece concludes with one of Balicourt’s most original movements in terms of structure: a Grazioso ‘core’ in D minor is flanked by two Presto sections, the second of which starts as a seeming da capo of the first but quickly, and quite unexpectedly, diverges; the throwaway staccato ending is a real audience-pleaser.

Sonata 6, in E major opens with a lyrical Andante that almost breathes the air of the Classical style. The second movement, in contrast, is a typically baroque Siciliana, moving to E minor and displaying a rich harmonic palette. The finale is a rondeau varié in which both repeats of the refrain are ornamented in different ways. As Balicourt’s description, Alla Polonese, conveys, the rhythm is that of a polonaise, a stately but slightly exotic dance that had become popular throughout Europe after the electors of Saxony, starting with Friedrich August I, assumed the Polish crown.

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Set 2: Sonata nos. 5 in D major and 6 in E major
hh443.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 49 0 · ISBN 978-1-910359-55-6
How to order
Return to home page