Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henricus Albicastro

‘Leuven’ Sonata in D minor

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Andrew Woolley | Michael Talbot

This unusually elaborate sonata survives uniquely in Leuven (Louvain), Belgium, where it forms part of the large Di Martinelli family archive. It has seven movements (or sections), of which the third and the seventh require the violinist to engage in complex double- stopping. Several features are old-fashioned for a composer of Albicastro’s generation, such as ‘solo’ sections involving rapid figuration over a slowly moving bass (II and V), and the reappearance of two portions in a transformed state (II/V and III/VII).

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Leuven’ Sonata in D minor
hh419.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 19 3 · ISBN 978-1-910359-35-8
How to order
Return to home page