Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henricus Albicastro

‘London’ Sonata No. 3 in F minor

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Andrew Woolley | Michael Talbot

This work belongs to a group of four violin sonatas by Albicastro included in a manuscript anthology of 66 violin sonatas by at least 15 different composers copied in England c.1705. It consists of five movements, the first three of which are performed continuously, and culminates in a magnificent French- style ‘Passacala’ (Passacaglia). F minor is not a natural key for the violin, and some of the passage-work in semiquavers is challenging, but this sonata is arguably the most substantial and rewarding to play of the four ‘London’ works, both for the violinist and continuo.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘London’ Sonata No. 3 in F minor
hh417.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 18 6 · ISBN 978-1-910359-33-4
How to order
Return to home page