Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henricus Albicastro

‘London’ Sonata No. 2 in B flat major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Andrew Woolley | Michael Talbot

This work belongs to a group of four violin sonatas by Albicastro included in a manuscript anthology of 66 violin sonatas by at least 15 different composers copied in England c.1705. It consists of four movements in the tempo-sequence slow – fast – slow – fast: the ‘classic’ structure associated especially with Corelli. The slow movements are lyrical, the fast movements brilliant, and clearly of Corellian inspiration (the second movement recalls the third of Sonata I from Corelli’s Op. 5). Especially characteristic of Albicastro is the extended third movement where there are modulations to various keys and prominent Neapolitan chords.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘London’ Sonata No. 2 in B flat major
hh416.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 16 2 · ISBN 978-1-910359-32-7
How to order
Return to home page