Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Henricus Albicastro

‘London’ Sonata No. 1 in C minor

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Andrew Woolley | Michael Talbot

This work belongs to a group of four violin sonatas by Albicastro included in a manuscript anthology of 66 violin sonatas by at least 15 different composers copied in England c.1705. It consists of four movements in the tempo-sequence slow – fast – slow – fast: the ‘classic’ structure associated especially with Corelli’s trio sonatas in da chiesa style. The slow movements are lyrical, the fast movements energetically contrapuntal (in this instance, with hardly any recourse to double-stopping). Several hallmarks of Albicastro’s style are present, including suave Corellian counterpoint in the second movement (a canzona-type subject is pitted against an elaboration, mostly in semiquavers, of a ‘circle of fifths’-type progression), inter-movement quotation, and harmonic experimentation.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘London’ Sonata No. 1 in C minor
hh415.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 06 3 · ISBN 978-1-910359-29-7
How to order
Return to home page