Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Carl Friedrich Christian Fasch

Sonata No. 5 in F major


Duration, c.20 minutes
edited by Christopher Hogwood
Add to shopping basket
LeafletMusic example (pdf)

Carl Fasch was notoriously reluctant to have his music made public and even asked for much of it to be destroyed. What remains supports the view that Fasch was the true successor to C. P. E. Bach, with whom he shared keyboard duties at Frederick the Great’s court. The present sonata, which appeared in print and was well regarded during the composer's lifetime, shows him to be a minor master and an eloquent advocate for the eclectic expressive style then current in Berlin.

The third movement is on the ABRSM piano syllabus 2017-2018, Grade 7.

“As a ‘taster’ this will surely invite further interest in the rest of his keyboard music.”

Penelope Cave, The Consort | Read the review

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Sonata No. 5 in F major
hh385.sol · ISMN 979 0 708146 08 7  · ISBN 978-1-910359-23-5
How to order
Return to home page