Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Johann Baptist Cramer

Sonata in C major, Op. 22/2

dedicated to Joseph Haydn


Duration, c.17 minutes
edited by Christopher Hogwood
Add to shopping basket
LeafletMusic example (pdf)

Unlike many of his bravura contemporaries, Johann Baptist Cramer regarded himself as a Mozartian by temperament, and intellectually a devotee of J. S. Bach. Beethoven considered him to be the best of all living pianists, recommending him as a teacher, and the English knew him affectionately as "Glorious John", a compliment to his refined nature and flawless musical style (and an acknowledgement of his long-term residency in London).

The present sonata is a model of classical clarity, and Cramer exploits the full range and sonority of the fortepiano, with exact indications of pedalling and dynamics.

The first movement is on the ABRSM piano syllabus 2017-2018, Grade 8.

“By all means purchase this wonderful sonata, but I would encourage my pupils to put it in context and buy the whole op. 22 set, as it is available in the same excellent edition.”

Penelope Cave, The Consort | Read the review

Cramer Three sonatas
Look inside

Leaflet To download descriptive leaflet click here

Sonata in C major, Op. 22/2
hh383.sol  ISMN 979 0 708146 20 9   ISBN 978-1-910359-21-1
How to order
Return to home page