Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |


Concerto a quadro del Sign: Hendell

Flute, violin, viola and violoncello with optional basso continuo

edited by Christopher Hogwood

This previously unpublished Concerto a quadro presumably started life as a concerto for the standard Baroque forces of flute, strings and continuo. Not preserved in its original form, it survives in a version for flute, violin, viola and cello in a set of manuscript parts apparently copied by an amateur musician in Sweden and now part of Christopher Hogwood’s collection. Though unlikely to be Handel’s own work, as a rare early example of music for flute quartet it is an attractive extension to a repertoire otherwise dominated by the works of Mozart and his contemporaries. In the present publication, editorial figuring in the cello part allows for the possibility of expanding the texture with additional continuo instruments.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Concerto a quadro del Sign: Hendell
hh369.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 88 7 · ISBN 978-1-910359-03-7
How to order
Return to home page