Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 11 in F major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The eleventh sonata, in five movements, is one of the most elaborate in the set. Its first movement (A tempo giusto) is very ornate and makes attractive use of syncopation. The second movement (Vivace) is good-humoured and alludes slyly to academic counterpoint. There follow two movements resembling, respectively, a sarabanda and a giga. The sonata ends with variations on a minuet theme – in the 1720s a newly fashionable way to close a sonata.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 11 in F major
hh350.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 26 9 · ISBN 978-1-910359-24-2
How to order
Return to home page