Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 10 in A minor

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The tenth sonata of the group, in four movements, is classically ‘da chiesa’ in character. Its first movement (Largo) weaves fantastic arabesques in the violin part, while the second movement (Allegro) includes attractive contrapuntal interaction between violin and bass. The third movement (Adagio) has some of the qualities of the first, and the sonata concludes with a vigorous, through-composed Allegro in corrente rhythm.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 10 in A minor
hh349.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 10 8 · ISBN 978-1-910359-17-4
How to order
Return to home page