Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 9 in C major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The ninth sonata of the group, in five movements, is one of Bitti’s most ambitious and advanced in style. Its second movement, in C minor, is a languorous Largo in siciliana rhythm, and the finale is a gavotte-like theme with five variations (variation form was just beginning to become a popular option for the final movement of a violin sonata at the time this work was written).

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 9 in C major
hh348.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708059 18 9 · ISBN 978-1-910359-16-7
How to order
Return to home page