Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 8 in A major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The eighth sonata of the group, in four movements, follows a suave preludio with an allemanda, a sarabanda and a giga, although only the second of those dances is named as such. The general mood of the work is relaxed and genial.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 8 in A major
hh347.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708059 59 2 · ISBN 978-1-910359-15-0
How to order
Return to home page