Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 5 in D major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The fifth sonata of the group, in four movements, is an example of a pure sonata da chiesa, none of the movements containing repeats or conforming to a recognizable dance-type. Its fast movements test the agility of the violinist, while the arabesques of the slow movements highlight lyrical expression.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 5 in D major
hh344.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 29 0 · ISBN 978-1-910359-12-9
How to order
Return to home page