Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 4 in G major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The fourth sonata of the group, in four movements, mixes ‘church’ and ‘chamber’ features: although they lack dance titles, the third and fourth movements have the character of a corrente and a giga, respectively. The general tone is elegant and melodious.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 4 in G major
hh343.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708059 10 3 · ISBN 978-1-910359-09-9
How to order
Return to home page