Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 3 in B flat major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

The twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the ‘late’, galant Bitti, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms as before. The third sonata of the group, in four movements, is a radically updated new version of the first ‘London’ sonata (published as HH328). Each of its four movements lavishly decorates and/or paraphrases the material of the prototype, producing what is in effect a new composition breathing the air of the 1720s.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 3 in B flat major
hh342.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708092 07 0 · ISBN 978-1-910359-08-2
How to order
Return to home page