Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 1 in C minor

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Antonio Frigé

Bitti's twelve ‘Cambridge’ sonatas, presented to Cardinal Ottoboni, represent the composer’s late, galant style, full of lovingly sculpted ornamental detail for the violin but with the same resourceful harmony and perfectly proportioned forms we recognize from earlier works. The first sonata of the group, with five movements, blends church and chamber elements attractively. Unusually for his time, Bitti pays particular attention to the phrasing and articulation of the violin part, thereby greatly enhancing the music’s expressive power.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Cambridge’ Sonata No. 1 in C minor
hh340.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 60 3 · ISBN 978-1-910359-02-0
How to order
Return to home page