Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘Dresden’ Sonata No. 2 in D major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Alessandro Borin | Antonio Frigé

This powerful sonata in D major is one of Bitti’s most Corelli-like creations. It opens with a composite movement alternating slow sections with cadenza like quick ones. Its second movement is what the English of the time called a ‘double-stopped’ fugue, in which the single violin mimics the contrapuntal interplay of the two violins in a trio sonata. There follows an almost comic movement beginning as an Adagio in which a walking bass partners deliberately mechanical scale progressions on the violin, before the movement suddenly transmutes into a sparkling perpetuum mobile. The final two movements are less surprising: a stately Adagio in a broad, sarabande-like style and a vigourous gigue-like Allegro.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘Dresden’ Sonata No. 2 in D major
hh337.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708041 51 1 · ISBN 978-1-904229-60-5
How to order
Return to home page