Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Martino Bitti

‘London’ Sonata No. 4 in A major

Violin and basso continuo

edited by Michael Talbot | Alessandro Borin

This Sonata in A major belonging to the ‘London’ group was published by John Walsh in January 1704 as the opening work in a series of violin sonatas by different composers delivered to subscribers in twelve monthly instalments. It is also preserved in the manuscript in the British library containing seven violin sonatas by Bitti. It is an extrovert work well suited to public performance — we know that the Cremonese violinist Gasparo Visconti played it at Drury Lane Theatre. The structure follows a pattern that recalls a sonata da camera by Corelli: a prelude-like movement followed in turn by a corrente, a slow, triple-time movement resembling a sarabanda and a giga.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

‘London’ Sonata No. 4 in A major
hh331.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708092 90 2 · ISBN 978-1-905779-85-7
How to order
Return to home page