Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Various composers

Mabel Dolmetsch

Mabel Dolmetsch Anthology

Viola da gamba · harpsichord

edited by Marguerite Dolmetsch

This anthology celebrates the life and work of Mabel Dolmetsch (1874–1963) on the fiftieth anniversary of her death. It brings together timeless melodies such as Belle qui tiens ma vie and Heartsease, sixteenth-century dances from the Medici Manuscript in the Dolmetsch Library, and examples from the French viol repertoire, including Récit de la viole seule et Sarabande from the Sonate for eight instruments by Marc-Antoine Charpentier and pieces by Sainte-Colombe, Jean-Baptiste Forqueray and Marin Marais. The harpsichord realizations are by Arnold and Jeanne Dolmetsch, and, for the two pieces by Charpentier, by Julie Anne Sadie. The eloquent Adagio from J. S. Bach’s Sonata no. 3 in G minor, BWV 1029, brings the collection to a close.

The edition includes a guide to the language of French ornamentation.

There is plenty of proof of the love and care with which this volume has been prepared for publication, and it is well worth purchasing at the price of £24.95.”
The Consort | Read the review

Add to shopping basket
Mabel Dolmetsch
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Mabel Dolmetsch Anthology
322.fsp  · ISMN 979 0 708092 79 7 · ISBN 978-1-905779-93-2 
How to order
Return to home page