Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Thomas Attwood Walmisley

Two sonatinas

Oboe (flute/clarinet) and pianoforte

edited by Christopher Hogwood

Original music for oboe and piano is relatively rare, especially from 19th-century England. These two short Sonatinas by Thomas Walmisley, a composer almost exclusively remembered for his church music, offer an early Romantic view of classical form and exploit both instruments ingeniously and with originality. Since the pieces were also published as flute works after the composer's death, and appear in manuscript for the clarinet, this appealing repertoire will be available not only to oboe players, but will successfully meet the programming needs of other wind recitalists.

Watch James Turnbull and Elizabeth Burgess play our edition
Champs Hill Records

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Two sonatinas for oboe (flute/clarinet) and piano
hh297.fsp  ISMN 979 0 708092 45 2  ISBN 978-1-905779-72-7
How to order
Return to home page