Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Quartet

after Quintet for Piano and Wind Instruments, K452

Violin, Viola, Violoncello and Pianoforte

edited by Christopher Hogwood

K452 — a Major Mozart Mystery
After first performing his quintet for piano and winds in 1784, Mozart described it to his father as “the best work I have ever composed”. But, mysteriously, it was not published for several years and then in the form of a quartet for piano and strings — and with a bogus ending.
The present edition presents this excellent transcription in Urtext form, and at the same time explains the strange circumstances that surrounded the disappearance and rediscovery of the manuscript. For the curious, both the “bogus” ending and a more Mozartian version are given.

“A beautifully designed edition of a wonderful chamber music work,
which can be recommended to all players who not only delight in making music
but value an edition with analysis and critical commentary.”
Das Liebhaberorchester

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Piano Quartet after K452
hh275.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708092 28 5 · ISBN 978-1-905779-61-1
How to order
Return to home page