Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Andante Variato


edited by Christopher Hogwood

No arranger was named on the 1793 first edition of this piano version of the slow movement from Mozart’s last chamber work for strings, but Alfred Einstein was so impressed by the adaptation that in his Mozart biography he ventured, “it is so masterly that one might even imagine the hand of Mozart to be present”. The many dynamic, tempo and articulation markings added by the arranger not only make this fine music particularly suitable for fortepiano or clavichord, but will also be of interest to modern string players performing the original version.

Edition HH deserves our thanks for presenting this work to enrich our knowledge of the art of arrangement at the time, and it would be most welcome if Christopher Hogwood were able to publish Gelinek's arrangement of the remaining movements in a future edition.

The Consort | Read the review

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Andante Variato
hh274.sol · ISMN 979 0 708092 26 1 · ISBN 978-1-905779-60-4
How to order
Return to home page