Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Giuseppe Maria Gioacchino Cambini

Six Trio Concertans, Op. 45

Volume 2, (Trios 4-6)

Flute oboe bassoon

Michael Elphinstone

Giuseppe Cambini (1746-1825?) was one of the most successful and popular composers working in Paris both before and after the Revolution. His name is today associated with the numerous 'symphonie concertantes' and string quartets and quintets he produced, and yet Cambini was also an important figure in the history of woodwind chamber music. Not only did he write the first works for what was to become the standard wind quintet, but his Trio Concertans Op.45 were almost certainly the first ever compositions written specifically for flute, oboe and bassoon. These expertly-crafted pieces, with their formal simplicity and classical elegance, abound in idiomatic writing for each of the three instruments. The set of six trios is here published in its entirety for the first time since the original Boyer-Le Menu edition.

This volume contains No. 4 in B flat major, No. 5 in G major and No. 6 in C major.

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Six Trio Concertans, Volume 2, Op. 45/4-6
hh262.fsp   ISMN 979 0 708092 19 3  ISBN 978-1-905779-56-7 
How to order
Return to home page