Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

François Devienne

Sonata in B flat major, Op. 70/1

Clarinet · keyboard

Nicholas Cox

The flautist, bassoonist, composer and teacher François Devienne became known as the 'French Mozart' because of the stylistic grace, formal balance and brilliance of his music. His sonatas for solo instrument and bass date from between 1788 and 1803 (the year of his death) and would have contributed to the didactic material used at the new Paris Conservatoire, established in 1795. Several of these works were so popular during the composer's lifetime that they were arranged for other instruments and published all over Europe. The present work, which has been realized and edited by the well-known British clarinettist Nicholas Cox, will be particularly suitable for reasonably advanced students of both modern and classical clarinets.

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Sonata in B flat major, Op. 70/1
hh257.fsp · ISMN M 708092 12 4 · ISBN 978-1-905779-49-9
How to order
Return to home page