Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Luigi Cherubini

Six Keyboard Sonatas


edited by Christopher Hogwood

We celebrate Cherubini’s 250th anniversary this year with an unusual publication. Although the composer is universally known for his operatic works, one of his earliest publications (at the age of 23) was this set of six sonatas for keyboard. Vivacious and melodically appealing two-movement works, they sound equally well on the harpsichord and the forte-piano — the latter instrument being popular around the court of the Grand Duke Leopold in Florence where the works were issued.

This edition, with full critical notes and facsimiles, also includes editorial suggestions for the many small cadenzas and “lead-ins” which are required as improvised extras in such music.

For those having a reluctance to tackle facsimiles of 18th-century prints and their occasional idiosyncrasies, this new edition by Christopher Hogwood will be of great interest, for here is to be found critically-reliable texts (with not a single editorial dynamic or fingering recommendation in sight), and with valuable interpretative guidance in the commentary for some of the finer practical issues at stake.

The Consort | Read the review

Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Six Keyboard Sonatas
hh256.sol · ISMN M 708092 11 7  · ISBN 978-1-905779-57-4
How to order
Return to home page