Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

August Eberhard Müller

Concerto for flute and orchestra in E minor

Flute · orchestra

ed. Christopher Hogwood | Nikolai Jaeger

August Eberhard Müller is chiefly remembered as a keyboard composer (see HH170), but for a time he was also the principal flautist of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. As a confirmed Mozartian, he followed the classical pattern in his concertos for flute and orchestra, and the present work, published here for the first time since 1801, is an attractive and virtuoso piece in the less usual minor tonality. It is edited by Nikolai Jaeger and Christopher Hogwood with a useful introduction that includes points of performance practice drawn from Müller’s own flute tutor. The full score and instrumental parts, and a keyboard reduction with solo part, are now available.

Edition HH strikes gold once more with the beautifully clear publication of the flute concerto in E minor by August Eberhard Müller (1767-1817), edited by Christopher Hogwood and Nikolai Jaeger.

The Consort | Read the review

The third movement Allegretto con variazioni is on the ABRSM Flute Grade 8 syllabus 2018-2021.

Add to shopping basketFull score
Add to shopping basketKeyboard reduction

Look inside the score

Look inside the keyboard reduction

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Flute concerto in E minor, full score
hh249.fsc  · ISMN 979 0 708092 04 9 · ISBN 978-1-905779-45-1 
Keyboard reduction with solo part
hh249.kbd  · ISMN 979 0 708092 05 6
Orchestral parts
hh249.ipt  · Hire
How to order
Return to home page