Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Three quartets

after K378, K380 and K496
anonymous contemporary arrangement

String quartet

edited by Christopher Hogwood

Over the past two decades “the arrangement” has enjoyed something of a revival, which would surely be a source of delight to classical composers, although they would never have understood why it fell out of favour in the first place.

The present set of three string quartets, arranged from two violin sonatas and a piano trio, were originally published by André in Vienna in 1799. A certain independence is noticeable on the part of the anonymous arranger, but the results are strikingly successful, effectively adding three new works to the Mozart œuvre and providing a welcome and gracious alternative for those quartet players who are seeking to move beyond the familiar, over-exposed repertoire.

The level of editorial intervention
and the advice given are most helpful,
and mindful of the needs of the performer

The familiar Edition HH qualities
of presentation and supplementary material are all present,
including Hogwood's excellent Introduction

This edition can be warmly recommended.

The Consort Summer 2010
Add to shopping basket
Wien Mueseum
Look inside

Three quartets
hh188.fsp · ISMN M 708059 63 9  · ISBN 978-1-905779-18-5
How to order
Return to home page