Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Grand Quintetto from Clarinet Concerto, K622

arranged by Christian Friedrich Gottlieb Schwencke

Two violins, viola, violoncello, pianoforte

edited by Christopher Hogwood

The two most tantalising losses for classical clarinettists are the autograph scores of Mozart's Concerto and Quintet, both supposedly lent by the composer to his friend Anton Stadler and subsequently lost. All surviving sources for clarinet misrepresent these pieces by adapting the solo part to the smaller ranger of the modern clarinet (Stadler's instrument had a basset extension to low C).
One advantage of an adaptation of such works where the piano takes over the majority of the clarinet part is that there is no restriction on range, and in the present transcriptions we can detect possible remnants of the original basset version. This arrangement by Christian Friedrich Gottlieb Schwencke also serve to enhance a side of chamber music that Mozart himself neglected, and offer players an additional piano quintet to add to their repertoire; in addition it proves a valuable source of new readings and interpretative suggestions for clarinet players performing the "original" versions.

This version of the concerto
has genuine scholarly value
and offers insights into the dissemination
of Mozart's works.
It clearly enjoyed some popularity
in the 19th century,
warranting a second edition in about 1859.
It certainly has appeal
as a chamber music novelty,
or as a very useful alternative means
of getting to know
the original from the inside.

The Consort, Summer2009
Add to shopping basket
Look inside

Piano Quintet from Clarinet Concerto
hh185.fsp  ISMN M 708059 55 4   ISBN 978-1-905779-15-4
How to order
Return to home page