Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Luigi Boccherini

Six flute quintets

Vol. 1 (Nos. 1-3)

Flute · two violins · viola · violoncello

Jennifer Caesar

It was during Boccherini's time in Spain that he wrote this present set of 6 quintets for flute and strings, listed by the composer in his autograph catalogue as Op. 17, ‘opera piccola’, and dated 1773. Boccherini’s use of the diminutive reflects the intimate and small-scale nature of these works, each quintet being cast in two movements, in contrast to the more usual four-movement structure favoured by Boccherini’s north European contemporaries.

Add to shopping basket
vol. 1
Look inside

Six flute quintets, volume 1
hh183.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708059 53 0 · ISBN 978-1-905779-13-0
How to order
Return to home page