Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Tomaso Albinoni

Il penar senza speranza

Soprano voice and basso continuo

ed. Michael Talbot

This cantata, from an important manuscript in Berlin containing 18 Albinoni cantatas for soprano and continuo, describes a disappointed lover's repudiation of Cupid. The form is notably concise, having only three movements: two arias enclosing a recitative. The first aria, expressing the lover's unhappiness in love, employs an ostinato bass - a speciality of the composer - very eloquently, while the second aria playfully, almost flirtatiously, heaps opprobrium on Cupid, even though one suspects that sooner or later the lover will be grateful again for his services.

Add to shopping basket
Music example
Look inside
Il penar senza speranza
hh151.fsp  ISMN 979 0 708059 05 9  ISBN 978-1-904229-85-8
How to order
Return to home page