Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Giuseppe Torelli

Concertino (Sonata) in A minor (TV51)

Two violins, basso continuo

ed. Michael Talbot

Giuseppe Torelli (1658-1709) was the leading composer of instrumental music in a flourishing school of composers active in Bologna in the second half of the seventeenth century and the opening decades of the eighteenth.

This highly interesting work, published here for the first time, exists in two versions, both authentic. The original version, entitled 'Concertino', is a sonata for two violins with concerto-like elements. The later version turns the work into a full-blown concerto for four solo violins and orchestral strings. The present edition is of the chamber version, which must rank among the most exhilarating examples of Italian chamber music before Vivaldi.

The edition is of the habitual high quality one has so quickly come to expect from HH. The substantial introduction (English and German) is mostly identical in the two scores; each has a critical commentary, and the printing of the notes is neat and clearly legible, offering no impediment to playing these fine pieces.

Early Music Review, October 2006
Add to shopping basket
Music example
Look inside

Concertino (Sonata)
hh118.fsp  ISMN M 708059 24 0  ISBN 1-904229-93-X
How to order
Return to home page