Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Giuseppe Torelli

Sinfonia (Sonata) in A major (TV50)

Two violins, basso continuo (plus orchestral strings ad libitum)

ed. Michael Talbot

Giuseppe Torelli (1658-1709) was the leading composer of instrumental music in a flourishing school of composers active in Bologna in the second half of the seventeenth century and the opening decades of the eighteenth.

This impressive sinfonia, published here for the first time, exists in two versions, both authentic. The original version is a sonata for two violins with strong concerto-like elements. The later version turns the work into a fully fledged concerto for two solo violins and orchestral strings (now including viola and violone). Either version can be played from the present score and parts.

The edition is of the habitual high quality one has so quickly come to expect from HH. The substantial introduction (English and German) is mostly identical in the two scores; each has a critical commentary, and the printing of the notes is neat and clearly legible, offering no impediment to playing these fine pieces.

Early Music Review, October 2006
Add to shopping basket
Music example
Look inside

Sinfonia (Sonata)
hh117.fsp  ISMN M 708059 19 6  ISBN 1-904229-92-1
How to order
Return to home page