Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Luigi Boccherini

Violoncello quintet in C major

G310 Op28/4

Two violins viola two violoncellos

ed. Keith Pascoe

Luigi Boccherini's cello quintets form the heart and soul of his musical legacy, tracing his arrival and permanent settlement in Spain. Of the 125 examples sadly, only a handful remain on the concert circuit in the present era. Our critical edition of Op. 28/4 (G310) in C major, attempts to dethrone the most performed of these, the ubiquitous 'Quintet in C' edited-or more precisely compiled, by a certain Lauterbach. The latter publication remains an unauthorised pastiche, combining movements from five different cello quintets. The present quintet, concludes with the catchy Rondeau championed by all cellists, and is prefaced by three equally complimentary movements. The edition presents cadenzas published here for the first time.

Add to shopping basket
Look inside
Violoncello quintet
hh071.fsp  ISMN 979 0 708041 27 6  ISBN 978-1-904229-58-2
How to order
Return to home page