Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Tim Coker

Tim Coker portrait

Odi Profanum Vulgus et Arceo (string quartet)
. . . rest a moment here (double string orchestra)
Sonata for Descant Recorder and Piano
Wild Wood (Descant recorder and four amplified paetzold ‘square’ bass recorders)

Tim Coker was born in Walsall and began composing whilst a pupil at Queen Mary’s Grammar School. He studied with John Casken, John Woolrich and Simon Holt at the universities of Manchester, Reading and London. He has a 1st class degree and in 2007 completed his doctorate entitled Dramma Per Musica which focuses on the relationship between new music and drama in contemporary culture.

His work has featured at a number of major festivals including Huddersfield, Cheltenham and Buxton. He has been performed by some of the world’s leading soloists and ensembles including the BBC Philharmonic; The Orkest de Volharding; Passacaglia with Dan Laurin; the BBC Singers and the Duke and Lindsay string quartets. As well as concert music, he also specialises as a composer of music for theatre and his 2004 chamber opera Walking not Driving toured the UK to critical acclaim performed by the Opera Group directed by John Fulljames.

An accomplished playwright, theatre director and sound designer, Tim recently founded York-based theatre company Square Pegs for whom he has written incidental music for the 2010 York Mystery Plays.

. . .Coker’s jerkily rhythmic score,
made a powerful impact from the start.

Walking not Driving The Times
Return to home page