Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Tomaso Albinoni

Tomaso Albinoni portrait

Two newly identified violin sonatas 2 sonatas

Sixteen cantatas for Soprano and basso continuo

Si più sfida i miei pensieri (Soprano · basso continuo)
Sorgea col lume in fronte (Soprano · basso continuo)
Donna illustre del Lazio (Soprano · basso continuo)
Lontan da te, mia vita (Soprano · basso continuo)
Quest'è l'ora fatale (Soprano · basso continuo)
Di tante ree sciagure (Soprano · basso continuo)
Fileno, caro amico (Soprano · basso continuo)
Sovra molle origliere (Soprano · basso continuo)
Dubbio affetto il cor mi strugge (Soprano · basso continuo)
Il bel ciglio d'Irene (Soprano · basso continuo)
Già dal mar sorgea l'alba (Soprano · basso continuo)
Amarissime pene (Soprano · basso continuo)
Sovra letto d'erbette (Soprano · basso continuo)
Il penar senza speranza (Soprano · basso continuo)
Senti, bel sol, deh senti (Soprano · basso continuo)
Clori nel ciel d'amor lucida stella (Soprano · basso continuo)
Rivolse Clori un giorno (Soprano · basso continuo)

Vorrei che lo sapessi & Senza il core del mio bene (Alto · basso continuo)

Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751), well known today for his oboe concertos (and, less happily, for the 'Adagio in G minor for Strings and Organ' published in modern times under his name), was a prolific composer of secular vocal music throughout his career. His almost fifty cantatas for solo voice (soprano or alto) and continuo constitute the best, but also the least well known, portion of his vocal music. Most if not all of Albinoni's cantatas originate from the early part of his career around 1700. They display a typically Venetian tunefulness, lively accompaniments and a finely developed sense of balance. Concise but not over- brief, they provide the ideal introduction to the world of the late-baroque cantata and to the composer's individual but highly satisfying musical language.

Return to home page