Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Joseph Lipavsky

Sonate concertante in G major G major

Joseph Lipavsky (1772–1810).
In his memoirs Carl Czerny names Bohemian-born Joseph Lipavsky, alongside Joseph Wölfl, Joseph Gelinek and Beethoven, among the eminent pianists and improvisers active in Vienna around 1800, praising him particularly for his skill in sight-reading and his interpretation of the fugues of Bach. His surviving compositions include chamber music, piano sonatas and several sets of keyboard variations.

Return to home page