Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Guido Olivieri



10 Passagagli per Violoncello Francone

Guido Olivieri is associate professor of musicology at The University of Texas at Austin, where he also directs the Early Music Ensemble ‘Austinato’. A former Mellon Fellow and visiting assistant professor at the University of Michigan, research fellow at the University of Liverpool (UK) and at The Italian Academy at Columbia University, he has published numerous articles in journals and collective volumes on the instrumental repertory in Naples in the 17th and 18th centuries, on string performance practices, and on Arcangelo Corelli.

Together with Marc Vanscheeuwijck he edited the volume Arcomelo 2013: Studi nel terzo centenario della morte di Arcangelo Corelli (LMI, 2015); and with Enrico Gatti the critical edition of Corelli’s Le sonate da camera di Assisi (LMI, 2015). He also rediscovered and published the first modern edition of two cello sonatas by Giovanni Bononcini (SEdM, 2019). He has contributed to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, MGG and the Dizionario biografico degli Italiani, and presented papers at the International Musicological Society, the American Musicological Society, the Convegno Annuale della Società Italiana di Musicologia, the Biennial International Conference on Baroque Music and at other international meetings.

Olivieri is President of the Society for Eighteenth-Century Music and member of the Advisory Board of Studi musicali. His groundbreaking research, conducted on archival sources, and collaborations with international artists have significantly contributed to the revival of interest in Neapolitan instrumental music and musicians.

Further information

Return to home page