Home page
Composer| Editor| Group| Instrumentation| Series |

Lewis Granom


Sonatas Op. 7 (Flute, basso continuo) Op.7
Sonatas Op. 8 (Flute, basso continuo) Op.7

During his lifetime, Lewis Granom (c.17001782) was one of the most famous English flute players. No doubt, his experiences as both teacher and performer made him highly eligible to write the first flute treatise by a named English author. His compositions for the flute include three volumes of sonatas. These highly accomplished pieces go way beyond the technical expectations of his contemporaries, making Granom one of the most exciting composers and theorists of the century, sadly neglected until now.

Return to home page